National Hall of Fame

The National Hall of Fame honors American alumni whose exceptional record of service and achievement merits special recognition. Induction into the National Hall of Fame is open to U.S. citizens who are graduates of one of the following components of the National Defense University: National War College, Dwight D. Eisenhower School for National Security and Resource Strategy (formerly the Industrial College of the Armed Forces), Joint Forces Staff College, College of Information and Cyberspace (iCollege), or the College of International Security Affairs.

To be eligible alumni must have served at the three- or four-star level in one of the armed services; at the Ambassadorial level in the Foreign Service; or at the equivalent levels in the Civil Service or the private sector/non-government organizations. Priority for induction is given to those alumni who have been recognized for superior achievements in military leadership, diplomacy, international development, or humanitarian work in government or the private sector.

Current Members of the National Hall of Fame:

2018 Inductees 
Ambassador William R. Brownfield (Ret), NWC Class of 1993
Ambassador Joyce A. Barr (Ret), ICAF class of 2001

2017 Inductees
Senator John Sidney McCain, III, NWC Class of 1974
General Eric Ken Shinseki, USA (Ret), NWC Class of 1986
General Martin Edward Dempsey, USA (Ret), NWC Class of 1996
General Ann Elizabeth Dunwoody, USA (Ret), ICAF Class of 1995
General Janet C. Wolfenbarger, USAF (Ret), ICAF Class of 1994

2013 Inductee 
Lieutenant General Brent Scowcroft, USAF (Ret), NWC Class of 1968

2011 Inductee 
Lieutenant General Julius W. Becton, Jr., USA (Ret), NWC Class of 1970

2010 Inductee 
Admiral James G. Stavridis, USN, NWC Class of 1992

2006 Inductees 
General Norton Schwartz, USAF, NWC Class of 1989 
General Michael Moseley, USAF, NWC Class of 1990 
Ambassador Ronald E. Neuman, NWC Class of 1991 
General William Looney, III, USAF, JFSC Class of 1983 
General Carlton W. Fulford, Jr., USMC (Ret), ICAF Class of 1985

2005 Inductees 
Ambassador B. Lynn Pascoe, NWC Class of 1982 
Admiral William J. Fallon, NWC Class of 1992 
Mr. Chester Huber, ICAF Class of 1995 
General Benjamin S. Griffin, USA, ICAF Class of 1991 
Mr. Michael W. Carleton, IRMC Class of 1993

2004 Inductees
Honorable J. Stapleton Roy, NWC Class of 1975
General Peter J. Schoomaker, NWC Class of 1989
Honorable Colin L. Powell, NWC Class of 1976
General Peter Pace, USMC, NWC Class of 1986
Dr. Margaret E. Myers, IRMC Class of 2003
Admiral James M. Loy, USCG (Ret), ICAF Class of 1985
General John P. Jumper, USAF, NWC Class of 1982
General James L. Jones, Jr., USMC, NWC Class of 1985
General George W. Casey, Jr., USA, JFSC Class of 1981
General John Abizaid, USA, JFSC Class of 1985

International Hall of Fame

The International Fellows Hall of Fame was established in 1999. The purpose of this program is to provide a prestigious and visible means of honoring National Defense University (NDU) graduates who have attained through merit the highest positions in their nation’s armed forces, service component, or government, or who have held an equivalent position in a multinational organization.  Members of the International Fellows Hall of Fame are recognized in a formal ceremony on NDU campus. Their photographs are displayed in Marshall Hall in the Hall of Fame area.

Click here for a complete list of members of the International Fellows Hall of Fame →