NDU Board of Visitors

The National Defense University Board of Visitors, under the provisions of the Federal Advisory Committee Act of 1972, as amended, shall provide the Secretary of Defense, through the Chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff and the President of the National Defense University, independent advice and recommendations on accreditation compliance, organizational management, strategic planning, resource management, and other matters of interest to the National Defense University. 

The board shall be composed of not more than 12 members who are eminent authorities in the fields of defense, management, leadership, academia, national military strategy or joint planning at all levels of war, joint doctrine, joint command and control, or joint requirements and development. Board members appointed by the Secretary of Defense who are not full-time Federal officers or employees shall serve as experts and consultants under the authority of 5 U.S.C. § 3109. Board membership shall be renewed on an annual basis for either the appointment of new members or the reappointment of standing members as approved by the Office of the Secretary of Defense's Office of the White House Liaison. 

The Board’s Chairperson and Co-Chairperson shall be approved by the Secretary of Defense based upon recommendation from the Board’s Membership in consultation with the Chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff. The Chairperson and Co-Chairperson shall serve at the discretion of the Secretary of Defense. Board Members shall, with the exception of travel and per diem for official travel, serve without compensation. In addition, the Chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff may invite other distinguished U. S. Government officers to serve as non-voting observers of the board and appoint consultants with special expertise to assist the board on an ad hoc basis, who shall be, if approved by the Secretary of Defense, appointed under the authority of 5 U.S.C. § 3109.

Board Members

  • General Norton Schwartz USAF (Ret)—Board Chair
  • Ambassador Bismarck Myrick* (Ret)—Vice Chair
  • Vice Admiral Jody Breckenridge* USCG (Ret)
  • Lieutenant General Charles Hooper USA (Ret)
  • Dr. Chris Howard*
  • Dr. Suzanne Logan*
  • Colonel Nora Ramirez Marcos USA (Ret)
  • Dr. DJ Patil
  • The Honorable Tim Roemer
  • The Honorable Debra Wada

*Indicates previous BoV member

Announcement of New BOV Members (PRNewswire 14 April 2022)

Board Meetings

The Board shall meet at the call of the Designated Federal Officer in consultation with the President, National Defense University, and the Chairperson for a minimum of two meetings per year. The Board shall be authorized to establish subcommittees as necessary to fulfill its mission, and these subcommittees shall operate under the provisions of the Federal Advisory Committee Act of 1972, as amended.

Next Meeting

Archived Meetings


Board Documents


BOV Terms of Reference (Effective 17 Feb 2022)
BOV Charter Amendment (Amended 17 Feb 2022)